close video
Skip to main content

The Chief Executive Office supports the chief executive officer (CEO) and chief of staff, who lead the district's strategic planning in collaboration with the Board of School Commissioners, oversee its performance, represent the district to community stakeholders, and promote the district's institutional advancement. 

200 E. North Avenue
Room 405
Baltimore, MD 21202

Phone: 410-396-8803
Fax: 410-396-8898

Key staff:

•  Sonja Brookins Santelises, chief executive officer (email)
•  Tracey Durant, director, equity (email)
•  Jennie Wu, special assistant (email)
•  Christy Lewis, executive assistant (email)
•  Niya Spencer, executive scheduler (email to request a meeting with Dr. Santelises)



Key staff:

  • Alison Perkins-Cohen, chief of staff (email)
  • Cleo Hirsch, special assistant (email)
  • Jim Brennan, executive assistant (email)
  • Melissa Broome, director, policy and legislative affairs (email)
  • Sarah Heaton, director, strategy and continuous improvement (email)
New Initiatives

Phone: 443-642-3828

Key staff: Angela Alvarez, executive director (email)

21st-Century School Buildings

Phone: 443-642-4600

Key staff:

  • Cheri Vincent, interim executive director (email)
  • Michael McBride, director, design (email)
  • Nicole Price, director, community and public relations (email)