Skip to main content

Schools without air-conditioning

LAST UPDATED: June 7, 2023 

The schools listed below will close or have early dismissal on extremely hot days, or that feel warmer due to a combination of heat and humidity. Schools not listed below have air-conditioning (but may dismiss early, if their systems require repair that cannot be completed within one day).

To find your school's dismissal time, please visit the school's profile page.

  • Baltimore City College (Early release at 11:30 a.m.)
  • Benjamin Franklin High School at Masonville Cove (Early release at noon)
  • City Springs Elementary/Middle School (Early release at 12:45 p.m.)
  • Cross Country Elementary/Middle School (Early release at 1:15 p.m.)
  • Curtis Bay Elementary/Middle School (Early release at 11:30 a.m.)
  • Eutaw-Marshburn Elementary School (Early release at 11:45 a.m.)
  • Franklin Square Elementary/Middle School (Early release at 11:45 a.m.)
  • Furley Elementary School (Early release at 11:30 a.m.)
  • Harlem Park Elementary/Middle School (Early release at noon)
  • National Academy Foundation (Early release at 12:45 p.m.)
  • New Era Academy (Early release at 11:30 a.m.)
  • Vanguard Collegiate Middle School (Early release at 11:45 a.m.)
  • The Mount Washington School (lower building) (Early release at 12:45 p.m.)

The following school(s) in buildings maintained by City School have air conditioning that is currently under repair and will need to be released early on extremely hot days. When repairs are complete we will remove these schools from the list.

  • Mary Winterling (Early release at noon)
  • Arlington Elementary School (Early release at 1:15 pm) 
  • Calvin M. Rodwell Elementary/Middle School (Early release at 11:45 a.m.) 
  • Pimlico Elementary/Middle School (Early release at 11:45 a.m.)
  • Highlandtown #237 - (Early release at noon)

City Schools does not plan to install air-conditioning for these schools and alternative programs, because their buildings are not owned by the district:

  • Empowerment Academy (Early release at 11:45 a.m.)
  • Youth Opportunity (Early release at 1:00 p.m.)

Find more info

Heating and Cooling

Learn more about heating and cooling in our school buildings