Skip to main content
Open all alerts
Possible technology service interruption.

On Friday, September 29, 2023, between 6 and 8 p.m., City Schools will be updating our technology infrastructure. This maintenance may cause intermittent service disruptions to all City Schools' technology services. This includes any systems that require internet access and cloud-based services. Please plan accordingly. 

Expires in 8 hours

Baltimore City Public Schools' Teacher of the Year is a Finalist for Statewide Honor

BALTIMORE – Baltimore City Public Schools’ (City Schools) 2022 Teacher of the Year, Berol Dewdney, is a finalist for Maryland Teacher of the Year. The good news was shared today during the Maryland State Department of Education’s (MSDE) announcement of all 7 finalists for the top educator award in the state. 

Dewdney is a pre-kindergarten teacher and team lead at Commodore John Rodgers Elementary/Middle School. She is also a “Tools of the Mind”-endorsed curriculum and instructional coach across the district, a City Schools model teacher, and a kindergarten readiness consultant. Outside of City Schools, Ms. Dewdney is a Sue Lehmann Excellence in Teaching Award Regional Finalist and a Kennedy Leadership Award Winner. 

Since 2013, nine City Schools teachers have been named finalists for the Maryland Teacher of the Year. Three have won the honor - Wyatt Oroke in 2020, Sia Kyriakakos in 2016, and Ryan Kaiser in 2015.

City Schools CEO Sonja Santelises said of Dewdney when she was chosen as the district Teacher of the Year, “She exemplifies the skills, patience and devotion for her students’ success that make her such a sensational pre-kindergarten teacher. She follows a long lineage of amazing City Schools teachers that earned this honor, and I am so proud to have her on our team." 

The 2022 Maryland Teacher of the Year will be announced on Maryland Public Television (MPT) on October 6, 2022 at 8 p.m. on MPT2. The winner at the state level will represent Maryland in the national competition. 

For more information about the Teacher of the Year award, Ms. Dewdney, and the other finalists, please visit