• Roland Park Middle School -- Extracurricular Activities 2015-16
    Activity Purpose 
    Participant
    qualifications
    Group size Location Day(s) Time(s) Leader  Contact Info Parent involvement required/ requested Cost
    Babysitting Certification class Red Cross certification for future babysitters chosen by lottery limited library 2 Fridays, TBD After school jylani brown sacredbeginningsglobal@gmail.com   TBD
    Baltimore Urban Debate Legue New this year   limited              
    Book Critics Circle Review advance reader copies of books & help to choose books for the school library  Must read a book and write a review every other month open Library 3rd or 4th  Wed. of each month 3:10-
    4:10 pm
    Ms. Kennedy
    Ms. White 
    atkennedy@bcps.k12.md.us
    410-396-6591
    volunteers welcome $0
    Chess Club   Open to all open Rm. 321 Thur. 3:15-
    4:15 pm
    Ms. Horne  lkhorne@bcps.k12.md.us volunteers welcome $0
    Concert Band For experienced musicians See Ms. Schmitt open Rm. 003 Mon. &
    Thur.
    7:45-
    8:20 am
    Ms. Schmitt  dannischmitt@gmail.com
    410-396-6420
    volunteers welcome $0
    Fellowship of Christian Athletes Led by student-athletes to encourage
    people to make a difference for Christ
    through integrity, serving, teamwork and excellence.
    Open to all open Rm. 314 Wed. or
    Th. - TBD
    3:05-
    4:00 pm
    Ms. Fonda  jfonda@bcps.k12.md.us
    410-396-3420
    volunteers welcome $0
    Gay-Straight Alliance Student-driven activities to reduce bullying, improve school climate, and make diversity visible and accepted. Open to all open Rm. 226  Wed. 3:05-
    4pm
    Ms. Mooney KMMooney@bcps.k12.md.us
    443-895-0767  
    volunteers welcome $0
    Glee Club   By audition audition   Mon./ Wed   Ms Ludwig      
    Homework Club Tutors Needed after school           Mr. Zimmerman pzimmerman@bcps.k12.md.us volunteers welcome $0
    Jazz Band For experienced musicians See Ms. Schmitt open Rm. 003 Tue. &
     Fri.
    7:45-
    8:20 am
    Ms. Schmitt  dannischmitt@gmail.com
    410-396-6420
    volunteers welcome $0
    Math Counts Fun & challenging math competition program See Ms. Schwartz 15 Rm. 318-1 Mon. 3:05-
    4:05 pm
    Ms. Schwartz  yschwartz@bcps.k12.md.us
    410-419-1475
    drive students to Olympiad in Feb/March $0
    National Academic League (NAL) "Quiz Bowl"-like competition for 6th, 7th and 8th graders Academic aptitude 35 Rm. 331 Mon. &
    Wed.
    7:30 am (Games Wed.,3:30) Ms. Fleming
    Ms. Lewis 
    afleming@bcps.k12.md.us
    jjlewis@bcps.k12.md.us
    410-396-6420
    volunteers welcome $0
    National Jr. Honor Society Scholarship, service, leadership,
    and character-development organization
    apply in spring of 6th or 7th grade open       Ms. Gallagher
    kgallagher@bcps.k12.md.us
    410-396-6420
    NO TABLE $0
    Recycling Club Students collect and sort receyclable materials throughout school and earn service learning hours  Signed permission slip open Rm. 321    
    Mr. Zimmerman 
    pzimmerman@bcps.k12.md.us Volunteers welcomed $0
    Service Learning Club Plan, design & perform service learning projects in our community Open to all open Rm. 314  TBD 3:10-
    4:10 pm
    Ms. Bookman, Ms Cuesta
    Ms. Fonda
    jfonda@bcps.k12.md.us
    410-396-3420
    volunteers welcome $0
    Sports Teams girls' soccer, volleyball, softball Tryouts throughout the year varies       Ms Furno dfurno@bcps.k12.md.us    
    Sports Teams Basketball, lacrosse, track Tryouts throughout the year varies       Ms Krouse KLKrouse@bcps.k12.md.us    
    Strategy Games Club Learn about strategy, probability and tactics through games Open to all 30 Rm. 217 Fri. 3:15-
    4:30 pm
    Mr. Sanzenbacher  ksanzenbacher@bcps.k12.md.us
    410-370-3377
    volunteers welcome $0
    Student Government Association       Library     Ms Kennedy atkennedy@bcps.k12.md.us
    410-396-6591
    volunteers welcome $0
    Theatre Productions - Middle School Tech Open to all varies Multipurpose Room or Rm. 008 Tue. & Thur. 3:05-
    5 pm
    Ms Saar ksaar@bcps.k12.md.us
    410-396-6420
    yes - many opportunities: set, costumes, concessions, etc $0
    Theatre Productions - Middle School Performers Audition varies Multipurpose Room or Rm. 008 Tue. & Thur. 3:05-
    5 pm
    Ms. Saar  ksaar@bcps.k12.md.us
    410-396-6420
      
    yes - many opportunities: set, costumes, concessions, etc $25
     Vex Robotics and Technology Club Students will create and program a team VEX robot and prepare to enter competition. Students will explore 3d modeling using various computer applications. Open to all 15 Room 224 Tues.  3:05-4:00 pm Mr. Hoffman and Mr. Storke
     bhoffman@bcps.k12.md.us or pstorke@bcps.k12.md.us
    410-396-6420
      TBD