Transformational Principals

  • Learn more about City Schools' transformational principals. Watch more stories on Vimeo.

    Baltimore City Public Schools continually cultivates a culture of leadership at every level throughout the district. A school's success starts with its principal and how their leadership transcends throughout the building with their staff and then within the school's community. As part of their professional growth, City Schools is proud to recognize those school leaders that go above and beyond the call of duty to profoundly and successfully transform the lives of their students, teachers, partners and the community that surrounds them. Each year City Schools celebrates a new cohort of principals through key leadership designations for school-based administrative positions known as “Transformational Principals”. These leaders are taking the next step in their ongoing work of inspiring and mentoring both peers and students while ensuring excellent teaching and learning in every classroom.

    The transformational principal designation is part of the district’s contract with the Public School Administrators and Supervisors Association that clearly delineates and rewards educators’ progression toward positions of leadership that will build schools’ capacity to ensure high-quality academic experiences for all students.

    Name School
     2015 Cohort
     Erita Ricketts Adams Northwood Elementary School
     Christopher Battaglia  Benjamin Franklin High School at Masonville Cove
     Patricia Burrell North Bend Elementary/Middle School
     Patrick Crouse William S. Baer School
    Danique Dolly
     City Neighbors High School
     Mary Donnelly John Ruhrah Elementary/Middle School
    Brian Eyer
     Digital Harbor High School
     Michael Frederick The Reach! Partnership School
     Tamara Hanson John Eager Howard Elementary School
     Najib Jammal Lakeland Elementary/Middle School
     Kathleen O'Hanlon Midtown Academy
     Karl Perry Edmondson-Westside High School
     Renata Plummer Sarah M. Roach Elementary School
     Katherine Primm
     The Green School
     Rhonda Richetta City Springs Elementary/Middle School
     Kimberly Sollers Edgewood Elementary School
    Natalia Walter KIPP Harmony Academy
    Dwayne Wheeler
     Rosemont Elementary/Middle School
     Jacqueline Williams Baltimore Polytechnic Institute
     2014 Cohort
    Mark Bongiovanni Armistead Gardens Elementary/Middle School
    Anthony Brooks Gardenville Elementary School
    Nikia Carter Mary Ann Winterling Elementary School at Bentalou
    James Dendinger Thomas Johnson Elementary/Middle School
    Christopher Ford Baltimore School for the Arts
    Roxanne Forr Cecil Elementary School
    Mark Gaither Wolfe Street Academy
    Teresa Hall-Cooper Lakewood Elementary School
    Cindy Harcum Baltimore City College
    Crystal Harden-Lindsey Green Street Academy
    Matthew Hornbeck Hampstead Hill Academy
    Starletta Jackson Vivien T. Thomas Medical Arts Academy
    Joseph Manko Liberty Elementary School
    Marc Martin Commodore John Rodgers Elementary/Middle School
    Nancy Neilson New Song Academy
    Stacey Place-Tosé William Paca Elementary School
    Amanda Rice Waverly Elementary/Middle School